Country Slovenia

Slovenia is a small country in Central Europe, bordered by Italy, Austria, Hungary and Croatia. Part of the European Union, eurozone and the Schengen Area.

Entry into Slovenia / VISA:

If you’re from an EEA country or Switzerland, you can enter the UK with either a valid passport or a national identity card issued by an EEA country.

If you’re not from an EEA country, you may need a visa, depending on which country you’re from. For information about visa requirements by country, please visit: For detailed information about the entry requirements are available here:

It could take significant amount of time to obtain a visa from the Embassy in your country. We therefore strongly recommend you complete the registration and payment well in advance to receive the application form for supporting documents for your visa in due time.

Safety and security

Slovenia is often referred to as one of the safest places to visit in Europe. Crime is very low. Like elsewhere, ensure that your personal belongings, including your passport and other travel documents, are secure at all times.

Drinking water

Tap water is safe to drink anywhere in Slovenia.

Currency exchange

The official currency of Slovenia is the Euro (€) and it’s the only currency accepted when paying in cash. Currency exchange is available at hotels and banks. All major credit cards are widely accepted, and the ATMs are abundant.


The average temperatures in Portoroz during the period of the symposium would generally be between 15-20 °C.

Useful websites